Mini Chicken Pot Pies

We eat a lot of chicken around here. Buying it in bulk at good prices from the grocery store mean that we have chicken in umpteen different preparations throughout the month. One of my favorite ways to eat chicken are in a Mini Pot Pie version. The kid even likes them which means they are part of our regular dinner rotation! The recipe below was adapted from Quick Dish. They might seem at first to be one of those “quick and easy” kind of dinners but don’t be fooled! They take more time and effort than I would prefer for a weeknight dinner, unless the chicken was cooked and chopped ahead of time.

Mini Chicken Pot Pies

What you’ll need:

  • 1 lb chicken, poached and shred/diced
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup frozen mixed veggies
  • 2 cans refrigerated biscuits
  • 3/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 dash salt & pepper
  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • Muffin pan (that holds 12)

Ingredients

You’ll notice most of my ingredients are store-brand (Giant). I’m not a food snob and I think everything tastes just fine!

How to do it:

  • Pre-heat your oven to 400°F (I have a gas oven, not sure what kind of variation an electric one would need- be careful!)
  • To poach the chicken, place it at the bottom of a pot and fill with cold water until the chicken is barely covered. Bring the water to a boil then turn it down to simmer with a lid on until the chicken is white and can be pulled apart easily with a fork. I can’t even tell you precisely how long this takes because I never think to time it! I just walk by the chicken and poke it with a fork every couple of minutes as I prepare the other ingredients. When you can tear the chicken apart, take them out and chop it all up. I use boneless breast tenderloin because it makes the dicing/shredding process a lot easier.

Poached Chicken

  • Add all the ingredients (except cooking spray & biscuits) to a large bowl and stir until evenly mixed.  Omit or lessen the crushed red pepper if you don’t like your food really spicy. My little family loves the feeling of taste buds being burned off our tongues!
  • Pop open the biscuit cans and use 1 per muffin spot.  The only crappy part about store-brand biscuits is you have to use a spoon to get the can to pop open. I don’t know why, but even though I know it’s going to make a loud sound it still makes me jump every time! Use your fingers or the back of a spoon to push it down to the bottom and up covering the sides. I use the flaky kind of biscuits because they are so damn yummy!

IMG_5576

  • Spoon in the mixture. I usually let mine be a little overfilled, using a very generous tablespoon scoop of filling to do so! Don’t be afraid… pile it on there yeah baby!

Spoon

  • Throw those suckers into the oven and set your timer for 15 minutes. I had 4 biscuits and the perfect amount of filling for them to do a second round in the oven when the first was finished so as not to waste any of the ingredients (plus they heat up nicely for lunches at work)!  Be sure to let the pan cool between or you’ll burn  your fingers. Trust me on this one.

15 mins

  • Pull them out at 15 minutes or your biscuits are gonna burn! When they are golden brown around the edges you know they are good to go. The mixture inside should still be slightly creamy otherwise they’ll end up dry. From an earlier time making these, trust me on this too.

Mini Chicken Pot Pies

  • Last step: STUFF YOUR FACE! I don’t even make sides to go with this meal because these have everything we need in them already!  Two of these sweet little babies makes a perfect portion for my dinner. My fiancé ate 3. My daughter picked at 2 biscuits, she only eats the filling (we don’t mind because that means an extra biscuit for him and I when she is finished).

I hope you enjoy these as much as we did!

2 thoughts on “Mini Chicken Pot Pies

What's on your mind?

