Breakfast for Dinner Smoothie

I hate making dinner during the week, unless it’s a crock pot night. On all non-crock pot nights, there is something daunting about defrosting meat then transforming it into something delicious and healthy in a 30 minute timeframe. That’s basically all the time I ever have if I want to have my daughter showered and in bed at a decent time. But breakfast for dinner? Easy peasy. Recently I made pink scrambled eggs and yellow chocolate chip pancakes. I don’t know what it is about BFD (breakfast for dinner) that gets me feeling all colorful but my munchkin gets a kick out of it :)

image

After serving up these tasty delicacies I decided I needed to eat something lighter than pancakes and offer the kid something healthy on the side.. thus was born the BFD smoothie:

image

This beautifully purple creation was made with the following:

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 packet Carnation Instant Breakfast (French Vanilla)
  • 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries (ours had strawberries, blackberries and blueberries)

Throw all that in and blend until smooth! You could use a frozen chopped banana and fresh berries too. Or you could use all fresh fruit but you’ll need to throw 4-6 ice cubes in to thicken it up.

Enjoy!

What's on your mind?

