Things I Can’t Make Up (and that piss me off)

Two weeks ago at soccer practice:

Random Mom: Oh hi, how are you?

Me: Good.

Random Mom: What’s your daughter’s name?

Me: “Little J”

OTHER Nearby Random Mom: Oh my God, I thought you were a kid!! You have a daughter on this team? I really thought you were just someone’s teenage sister or something!!

Me: ….. Uhhh, well… no, I’m a Mom.

Today, at the bank while depositing checks that came as wedding gifts:

Teller: Are you getting married?!

Me: Yup.

Teller: How exciting! When? Where’s the honeymoon?

Me: End of this month, don’t have one booked yet. Money is tight so we’re waiting until it’s closer to see what kind of last-minute Living Social type of deals we can find. I figure a week off from work and having my daughter stay with my mom for a week is a great honeymoon in and of itself!

Teller: You have a kid? How old?

Me: 8.

Teller: What?! Really??? You don’t look old enough to have an 8-year-old!!

Me: I get that a lot (apparently).

*******************************************************

General note for the human race: In order to keep from offending people who have not asked for your absolutely clueless comments – Keep your stupid fucking mouth shut!

********************************************************

I guess by now, I should be used to shit like this. I’m 4’9″ and look very young for my age. I’m also very young (27). I also don’t wear makeup or jewelry or do anything nice with my hair. I get it, I look less sophisticated than 70% of high school chicks. HOWEVER, I am sick and fucking tired of hearing comments like those named above. They are 2 examples out of MANY that I hear all the time. EVERYWHERE! I want to wear a sign that says:

“Yes I’m short. Yes I’m young. Yes I have an 8-year-old kid. Get the fuck over it.”

Can someone have that made for me? Please?

Thanks.

Related Posts:

Fuck you Northern Virginia
Short People Problems

3 thoughts on “Things I Can’t Make Up (and that piss me off)

  1. Pingback: Ummm, excuse me?! | Write in the Wrong Way

  2. I wish I could have been there so I could have laughed when those women said it. Does your fiance give you piggy backs or shoulder rides ever? By the way, you are sounding bitter. Congrats on that!

What's on your mind?

