10 thoughts on “Ummm, excuse me?!

  1. I really don’t want to downplay the genuine empathy I have for your long-suffering, but I really could not help but think about Phineas & Ferb. “Aren’t you a little young be using an arc welder?” “Aren’t you a little young to be a roller coaster engineer?” I mean, you know, they’re fictional characters, and they’re not having to put up with the ultra-personal sneering, but…. I forget where I was going with this. Anyway, I think Phineas could sympathize!

    • Haha, thank you. I need to get over it, is the gist of what I got from your comment – you couldn’t be more right :) HOWEVER… for the sake of science.. I think I will walk up to an old looking mom and say “aren’t you too old to have a kid?” Because I am DYING to see the reaction. I have a feeling they might not play it as cool as I usually do :)

  2. My favorite was when we were trying (like really really trying) to have kids and we weren’t succeeding and people would ask us, “So when are you having a kid?” Some people just think kids happen whenever you want, but for some it doesn’t happen as easily and opening a door. Pissed me off.

  3. after many years of people getting that guilty look after i cold-stared them down after they made a rude comment (my first child was born when i was 18 and i looked about 14, so i feel you on this one) and then doing the quick-change by saying, “but you’ll be glad when you’re older that you look so young!” i would like to report that A) now that i am older, i am glad that i look younger than i am, and B) i have decided that it is cleansing for the soul to respond in kind. so for people who think it is completely untacky to comment on my biz, i feel free to do the same. yes, perhaps i could take the high road, but then i would have so many fewer funny stories to tell. the last time (a few weeks ago, in fact) that someone said to me, “but you look too young to have a married son!” i said, ” i AM too young to have a married son.” and they just looked all confused and perplexed… whatever, dude. if you say something that might make me uncomfortable, don’t expect me to rescue you from your discomfort, that’s all i’m saying…

    • Ha! I love your response tactic and will try that the next time I find myself in this situation. Which I’m sure will be soon because it literally happens all the time. Didn’t know you had a kid at 18, we have lots in common :) They do always tell me I’ll be glad to look younger when I’m older, which I have no doubt will be the case. But I think I’ll appreciate it more when I’m 40 and I look like I’m in my 20s vs. being 28 and looking like a teenager!!!

What's on your mind?

