Fighting demons.

I just got off the phone with my mother. It was one of the saddest conversations we’ve ever had.

Sadder than when she called to say my grandfather died.

Sadder than the day she told me my 15-year-old dog had to be put to sleep.

Sadder than when she told me what kind of person my father really is, behind his thin veil of normalcy.

Today she kicked my brother out of her house and dropped him off at a gas station.. not knowing where or with whom he would go.

Today he was supposed to go back to rehab.. to a different inpatient treatment center. Today he refused to go and got an ultimatum.

Go to inpatient treatment, or leave.

He left.

The demons won.

11 thoughts on “Fighting demons.

  1. I can’t “like” this, but thoughts and prayers are with you, your brother, or my mom. Hopefully nowhere to go from here but up. In my experience, demons rarely win wars against love.

    • I thought he was there a few months ago when he was stealing from my family. I have to be honest.. I worry more for my mother now than for him. He has found a way to “function” with the living conditions he just returned to.. my mom on the other hand, fears the worst. For good reason. I have never hoped for anything as hard as I hope for him to make the right decision. If anything happened to him, my mom would be beyond whatever is beyond devastation.

  2. I went to that link…I could not “like” it in good conscious; I am very sorry to read that…hoping the best for you and your brother. If the demons won today, hopefully, they just won the battle and not the war. Fighting demons is a tricky and complex business.

What's on your mind?

