The Others take your Monday!

Some of you might understand the title of this post. The rest of you will just think I’m crazy. Both work fine for me.

I have never watched the Game of Thrones show, but heard so much about it that I was seriously intrigued. Sounded like it was exactly up my alley. But I don’t really dig fads and jumping on bandwagons and going with the flow… I’m more of an against the grain kinda girl. So I decided to read the books, and bugger with the TV show! I finished Game of Thrones in 2 weeks.

It. Was. Excruciating.

It never takes me longer than 2 days to read a book… but with 700+ pages and the craziest damn people/places/thing names I’ve ever encountered in my life, the going was slow. I read every damn night. From the second Little J laid her head on the pillow to the moment my eyes fell asleep, still clutching my iPhone like my life depended on it. Cause I read it on my Kindle app.

Of course when I finished it I couldn’t stop…. I am in it for the long haul damnit. I don’t start a series without intention of finishing……. so now I’m reading Clash of Kings.

Holy. Fuck.

If I thought Game of Thrones was good, I was clearly delirious. Because Clash of Kings is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t stop reading it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last night I read until midnight, then passed out in the recliner, iPhone in hand. I woke up at 1:45am, so you would think I’d drag my tired ass to bed at that point right?

No.

Instead I picked up where I left off (in bed, at least) and read until 2:15am when again I could not keep my eyes open any longer.

My dreams were intense.

My head is spinning.

I almost called out of work today just to finish the book. I’m on page 618 of 760. This book is about to get demolished.

I don’t even know what the next title is in the Song of Ice and Fire series but you can bet your ass I’ll have my nose in it very soon.

Amanda out.

3 thoughts on “The Others take your Monday!

    • I didn’t read it for like 5 days because the lack of sleep was getting a little terrifying. I started up again last night, didn’t go to bed until 2:30am. Feeling like a zombie today. Will probably do it again tonight… facepalm.

      • You’re a glutton for punishment huh? Well hopefully it will keep your mind off other things. BTW, congrats on your bro being clean for 6 months and his job. We’ll keep him in our prayers.

What's on your mind?

