What do you do when you’re not sure?

This morning was great. Like, really super awesome for a Monday! I woke up relatively on-time. Managed to shower and dress in record time. Casually descended the stairs (because we now live in a TOWNHOUSE instead of an APARTMENT). Then I made the kid lunch!

Which isn’t really such a big deal.. but it’s a super cool lunch. Mini bagel pizzas.*** Yeah, bitches.

Mom of the year and shit.

So I’m going about my business with the sauce and cheese and pepperonis… then popped it in the oven under the broiler for a minute to melt it all together.

No harm, no foul, right?

I don’t know.

I’m just really not sure.

If I turned that broiler off when I took those sweet little mini bagel pizzas out of the oven.

By the time the thought occurred to me, I was halfway to work. Too far to turn back. So I kept driving through my heart palpitations and tried to talk myself down off the edge.

There’s nothing in the oven that could catch fire right? So, worst comes to worst the house will just be REALLY warm when my husband gets home at 2:30pm? I mean… when you clean an oven using the self-clean feature, isn’t it WAY hotter for WAY longer anyway? So technically, it’s just like cleaning the oven out?

It’s every other thought in my head. Did I turn it off? Did I leave it on? I haven’t told my husband because if he gets home and the oven is OFF then I don’t want him to know there was even a slight possibility that I would have used the broiler and left it on.

Burning the house down 1 week and 2 days after moving in would be bad. Especially since it’s a townhouse wedged smack dab in the middle of a row of townhouses.

What would you do?!?!

 

*** For the mini bagel pizzas,

  • Throw some oregano, garlic powder and crushed red pepper flakes into a small bowl with a spoonful of butter (more or less depending on how many you’re making)
  • Melt it
  • Brush it onto the bagels
  • Throw some pizza sauce, cheese and pepperonis on them (or whatever your heart desires)
  • Put them under the broiler until cheese is melted (literally, 1-2 minutes)
  • TURN THE OVEN OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Enjoy
2 thoughts on “What do you do when you’re not sure?

What's on your mind?

